It’s definitely been a minute since I’ve written here. In my last post, I talked about the couple of days I spent in Paris, but now, here’s a little bit about my time in London – AKA one of my favorite cities I visited during this trip.

From Paris, we took the Eurostar train into London, which took about 2.5 hours. Once we arrived at St. Pancras International, I couldn’t believe that I was truly in London. From St Pancras, our EF group boarded our bus, and arrived at Hult Tower, where we stayed for the next two nights. The Hult was definitely the nicest place we stayed all throughout Europe – incredibly spacious rooms and comfy beds! Once we were settled, we began exploring! Our first stop was Nando’s, of course. Throughout our week in London, I admit, I had Nando’s about 3-4 times. So good – I couldn’t help myself! That same night, we did a pub crawl with the other EF’ers and a ton of other people! Definitely one of the best nights I had in Europe.

On the EF group’s last night in London, we enjoyed a nice pub dinner together with our incredible tour guide, Antonis, before they headed back to the U.S., and Antonis headed back to Greece. Once our group left, my friend, Chelsea, and I were now on our own to continue exploring London, Rome, and Barcelona together. We spent the next couple of days in London, while also venturing out to other parts of England, including Stonehenge, Bath, and the Chatsworth House.

Some other highlights from England:

Abbey Road
How can you visit London and not take trip to Abbey Road? We tried our best to recreate the famous Beatles album cover, but what we didn’t know – Abbey Road is actually a very busy street, and since there is no stop sign or red light, it’s incredibly difficult to get a decent picture without getting hit. This was the best we could do, unfortunately.

Westminster Abbey & Big Ben
Ah yes, the typical photo inside of a red telephone booth next to Westminster Abbey. Fun fact: those telephone booths are not as clean as they seem on TV! They’re actually pretty gross, which was slightly disappointing. (Am I the only one who didn’t know this beforehand? Probably.) Nonetheless, I still can’t believe that I was actually here.

Windsor Castle
We booked a day trip to Windsor Castle, Bath, and Stonehenge through Viator after our EF group had left Europe. The Queen was at the castle when we visited! Once we arrived, we did some exploring, then made our way to watch the Changing of the Guard. The castle was incredible, and I wish we had more time to see it! Unfortunately, we weren’t there for very long.

Stonehenge
Our Windsor Castle, Bath, and Stonehenge trip took a sharp turn once we left Bath. On our way to Stonehenge, our bus broke down in what seemed like the middle of nowhere. I felt terrible for our tour guide, as he was trying so hard not to panic. After being pulled over for an hour, another bus was able to pick up a handful of passengers and bring them to Stonehenge. The bus was a lot smaller than the one we were originally on, so not everyone made it on – luckily we did, though! By the time we made it to Stonehenge, it was already closed, but we were told that we could walk from the main entrance to the stones, which was nearly two miles. Since we had already made it that far, we decided to go for it. We weren’t able to get as close to the stones as visitors do during operating hours, but I’m glad we made the trek anyway. Once we were done taking our photos, we were lucky enough to find some incredibly nice workers who drove us back to the main visitor center on the shuttle, even though the attraction had already been closed for over 2 hours. We were just relieved that we didn’t have to walk all the way back! Eventually, another bus picked everyone up at the Stonehenge entrance, and we made it back to London shortly before midnight (only 4 hours after the estimated arrival time)!

London Eye

Of course, as a first-timer in London, I had to take a ride on the London Eye! Before getting on, I was absolutely terrified, until it actually took off. It ended up being a pleasant 30-minute ride with breathtaking views of London – you don’t even feel yourself moving!

Buckingham Palace, new friends + Notting Hill:


